New phone – a Motorola 4G One

There comes an time when an event takes place that causes you to shift from thinking about a new phone to buying one. That happened to me last week when the case that protects my phone cracked in two. Granted that is better than the phone cracking but still…

The reasons were mounting for me to replace the phone:

  1. I live in the hinterlands where my cell phone service is poor. The microcell installed from AT&T to address the problem will no longer be supported after December 2021. Any new phone would need to support Wi-Fi calling.
  2. There is good 5G coverage in the area, so having a 5G phone would be nice.
  3. The old phone has been getting slower lately, so I was going to have to rebuild (factory reset) it anyway. Granted a rebuild takes me about 4 hours, but I’d have to do that work on a new phone anyway.
  4. I had just put on my last tempered glass protective screen, so I’d need to buy more of those if I am going to keep the phone.
  5. I had not received an update for my phone in over a year. I’ve had it for about 4 years and now even Motorola had given up on support. They supported me through 3 major Android operating system versions — what more could I hope for. Based on what I’ve heard about some phones from other manufacturers, having Motorola support that long was a gift. As hopefully everyone is aware, updates are a critical element of having a secure phone.

The case breaking apart was just the straw that broke the camel’s back.

Motorola is having their spring sale, which means that they are probably coming out with new models. The 5g One was over $150 off its list price. The 5g One appeared to have high real-world satisfaction ratings, nice camera options, high performance, good battery performance and supported Wi-fi calling.

The one downside is that all the phones I’ve purchased for at least a decade have been unlocked phones. This one is tied to AT&T.

Time will tell if it can last as long and be as effective as my last phone, but for under $300 – I just felt I could risk it.

Leave a comment