Virtual new caster – What will it mean for ‘the news’?

When I saw this report of the China state news agency Xinhua introducing AI anchors. I had to comment on it. Chinese viewers saw a simulation of a regular Xinhua news anchor named Qiu Hao. There were examples of the simulation speaking Chinese as well as English. I can see how this would be a very efficient way to produce a news program in a number of languages, but it does edge into the uncanny valley. The simulation is not perfect but self-driving cars were viewed as unlikely at the turn of this century.

I do worry a bit about what effect this will have on the current “opinion as news” trend that seems to be taking over many news outlets. I don’t know about you but I am seeing more and more opinion and less facts presented to enable me to make up my own mind about events.

Leave a comment