Finally, portable and digital

This weekend, I tackled the last functionality I normally would use in the field: logging and the use of digital modes.

Out of the box, the 7100 support ASFK keying for RTTY and PSK, but I hadn’t gotten that functionality working yet. So early in the AM in the JARTS RTTY contest I decided that now is the time.

I dusted off an HP Stream 7 tablet running windows that I bought back when I worked for HP and dug out a USB mini cable and plugged it in. The Stream 7 will run 32 bit Windows 10 and has enough horsepower to do the decoding of the digital signals. It is also very small and cheap. I downloaded the drivers from the ICOM site and quickly was able to get the receive and rig controls working (bringing up the radio’s filters and centering signals…) I was using an old copy of MixW, I bought about a decade ago. I fall back on this program since it handles contests great and you can manipulate any of the rig control codes directly in that program, if they are not directly supported.

But when I went to transmit, the rig keyed up but no power output?! It took a bit of digging but I soon realized there was a setting that had to be changed to make the single sideband digital mode (USB-D) pull the transmit sound off the USB cable. They setting can be found at: Set-> Connectors ->Data MOD -> USB. The default is to have the data signal come from the ACC connector in the back of the rig. Once that was done: voila – a portable digital contest station.

Here is a picture of the PC, the radio head and a folding Bluetooth keyboard, operating outside my house. If you look close, you’ll see a RTTY signal on the MixW display.

20161015_101000

#amateurradio #hamradio

Leave a Reply

